Matthew Russell Lee’s Newsletter
Inner City Press SDNY & UN Podcast
Nov 8 #CourtCaseCast: In CIA Leak Case Schulte Gets May 23 Trial Date As US Must Explain Phone Search Delay
0:00
-0:57

Nov 8 #CourtCaseCast: In CIA Leak Case Schulte Gets May 23 Trial Date As US Must Explain Phone Search Delay

In CIA Leak Case Schulte Gets May 23 Trial Date As US Must Explain Phone Search Delay

By Matthew Russell Lee, Patreon Thread Song  https://www.patreon.com/MatthewRussellLee
BBC - Decrypt - LightRead - Honduras - Pod

SDNY COURTHOUSE, Nov 8 – In the conclusion of the month long trial of accused CIA leaker Joshua Schulte, on the morning of March 9, 2020 the jury returned guilty verdicts on Counts 8 and 10, with mistrial granted on all other counts. U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York Judge Paul A. Crotty set March 26 for the next date.  Then it was moved to April 22 (then May 18). March 9 thread here. Song here.

On March 22 for his second trial, Schulte with the US Attorney's Office's consent proposed to Judge Crotty delaying the second trial from May 10 to the fourth quarter of 2021, with time under the Speedy Trial Act to be excluded to October 1.

On November 9, 2021, a status conference was held before Judge Jesse M. Furman to whom the case has been reassigned. Inner City Press live tweeted it here - the upshot is a May 23, 2022 trial date has been set. Vlog here.

Schulte: What about my Brady violation letter?

AUSA: He wanted more server info from the CIA.

Judge Furman: Letters by next Monday. Now, the motion to suppress. Mr Denton, please says what was classified.

AUSA: We got a second warrant, for the notebooks. Schulte: They got the warrant after they seized my notebooks. It's ridiculous. I'd like an evidentiary hearing. I put a property receipt in as an exhibit.

Judge Furman: I deny that motion. But what about the warrant signed by Magistrate Judge Moses - when did Mr Schulte see it? And why the delay in returning his cell phone? AUSA: It was encrypted. Schulte: This is fruit of the poisonous tree.

Judge Furman: The motion as framed is denied. But there is an issues with the US holding onto the cellphone for two years. I'd like briefing on that. And whatever you can say orally now. Schulte: I need time on that. I don't have access to any law library.

Schulte: I've only been pro se since July.  Judge Furman: Once I set a new trial date, there'll be a motions schedule.

AUSA: We'll need 3 weeks for trial. The espionage trial. Then  the other charges... Schulte: I filed a civil case but Judge Oetken dismissed it Schulte: I refiled in front of Judge Crotty, who said it had to be civil.

Judge Furman: I'm setting a trial date, I'm thinking 23 May, 2022. Schulte: I need to check if my expect is available.

Judge Furman: It's a firm date, depending... Adjourned. https://www.patreon.com/MatthewRussellLee

0 Comments
Matthew Russell Lee’s Newsletter
Inner City Press SDNY & UN Podcast
Inner City Press' Matthew Russell Lee covers court cases at the SDNY, corruption in the UN, the IMF and community reinvestment
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Matthew Russell Lee / ICP